Focus on the vital few

Pareto principle

After reading this article, you’ll learn:

  1. What is the pareto principle.

  2. Why you should know about it.

  3. How to use this in all areas of your life.

Do you feel like you’re always struggling to juggle a never- ending list of tasks and responsibilities? And, in spite of this, you feel frustrated because you’re always busy, but never getting anything done?

You’re not alone.

The truth is, the struggle to balance work, personal life and everything else can lead to:

  • Stress.

  • Burnout.

  • Frustration.

Fortunately, there is a concept which will help you focus on what really matters. It is called the “Pareto principle” or the “ 80 / 20 rule”. It’s named after Vilfredo Pareto (1848 - 1923) , who was an Italian engineer, economist, sociologist, political scientist, and philosopher.

Pareto observed that 80% of the land in Italy was owned by only 20% of the population. He also noticed similar patterns in other countries and also in things not related to land / wealth.

The principle states that 80% of the output is determined by 20% of the input. This means, input and output are not proportional - a small input can lead to a disproportional output.

Ok, but why should I know about this?

We don’t have infinite time and energy. So it’s always wise to identify the “vital few” and ignore the “trivial many”. This is the way to be effective. The pareto principle will help you to work smarter, not harder.

This rule - of thumb can be used in multiple areas of life and work:

  • Health.

  • Learning.

  • Finances.

  • Relationships.

“Doing less is not being lazy. Don't give in to a culture that values personal sacrifice over personal productivity.”

- Tim Ferriss

How you can implement this in your life:

The best way is to see what questions can be asked in each area, so the concept is clear:

  1. TIME MANAGEMENT

"Which 20 % of my tasks contribute to 80% of my personal /professional goals?"

  1. PRODUCTIVITY

"What 20% of my efforts lead to 80% of my results at work?"

  1. FINANCES

"What are the top 20% of expenses that make up 80% of my monthly spending?"

  1. HEALTH AND FITNESS

"What 20% of my diet and exercise choices have 80 % of the impact on my health?"

  1. RELATIONSHIPS

"Who are the 20% of people in my life who provide 80% of my support and happiness?"

  1. LEARNING & PERSONAL GROWTH

"Which 20% of the books, courses, or skills could provide 80% of the knowledge and growth I seek?”

  1. WORK AND CAREER

"Which 20 % of the clients, projects, or tasks contribute to 80% of my career success?”

HOME & ORGANIZATION

"What 20% of my possessions or belongings do I use or value the most?"

  1. HOBBIES AND LEISURE

"Which 20 % of hobbies or leisure activities bring me 80 % of the joy and satisfaction?"

  1. GOAL SETTING AND PLANNING

"What are the top 20% of my goals that will lead to 80% of my desired life outcomes?"

Hope this concept helps you think differently and choose where to focus on. If so, please share the article with someone who will benefit from it.

Further reading

Reply

or to participate.